Scarlatti Sonata a Quattro no 4 in D minor
Bartók String Quartet no 1
Beethoven String Quartet in F major op 59 no 1

The ASQ travels across musical time in a program that encompasses baroque eloquence, classical grandeur and intense romanticism at the dawn of the 20th century. We begin with one of the earliest works for string quartet written by Italian master, Alessandro Scarlatti. Bartók, the undisputed giant of the 20th century string quartet, makes his first impression in the genre with this sumptuous first quartet. Though revelling in the musical world of late romanticism and the vivid colours of the impressionists, the vigour and rawness of this music is unmistakably Bartók. String quartets of the classical era are often described as musical conversations. Beethoven’s first Razumovsky quartet orates with passion, serious intent and grandeur of scale. Composed soon after the revolutionary Eroica Symphony, this quartet carries the same powerful sense of expressiveness and scope.

Sydney, Tue 14 November 7pm, City Recital Hall
, Wed 15 November 7pm, Adelaide Town Hall
Fri 17 November 7pm, Government House Ballroom
, Mon 20 November 7pm, Melbourne Recital Centre
, Sun 26 November 2pm, Gandel Hall, National Gallery of Australia
, Mon 27 November 7pm, Conservatorium Theatre

Tickets to this concert can be purchased by clicking the link on the city of your choice above.


Get closer to the music

Pre-concert presentation

Learn more about Beginnings by listening to a pre-concert video by the players.


Beginnings program

Check out the concert program below or download a pdf.