Thursday 2 July, 7pm
Adelaide Town Hall

ASQ+ Subscriptions
Save 15% and get the best seats

Single tickets
Adult $85
Concession $66
Student / Under 30 $30

National Tour Two

MOZART String Quartet in C major K 465 Dissonance
ROSS EDWARDS String Quartet no 4 (World Premiere)*
JANÁČEK String Quartet no 2 Intimate Letters

Perhaps the most famous of Mozart’s string quartets, Dissonance is a surprising and delightful study of musical contrasts, standing as one of the finest examples of the composer’s creative genius.

Building bridges is a theme that runs through the newly commissioned fourth string quartet of Australian composer Ross Edwards. Drawing inspiration from many cultures, his new work evokes the rousing possibilities for harmony in diversity, and the role that music can play in the journey from grief to joy.

Intimate Letters, nicknamed by Janáček himself, refers to the vast collection of over 700 letters the composer wrote to his reluctant muse Kamila Stösslová. Fuelled by unrequited love, each intensely emotional movement captures some of the most expressive music of the 20th century.

*Commissioned by Ronald and Therese Ridley