Sunday 11 October 2pm
Gandel Hall, National Gallery of Australia

ASQ+ Subscriptions
Save 15% and get the best seats

Single tickets
Adult $81
Concession $71
Student / Under 30 $30

National Tour Three

DUTILLEUX Ainsi la Nuit
BEETHOVEN String Quartet in C sharp minor op 131

We invite you to join us on a fascinating 70-minute musical journey as we traverse two seven-movement string quartets, by Beethoven and Dutilleux.

Many regard Beethoven’s late quartets as the holy grail of his contribution to the genre. The composer’s monumental String Quartet in C sharp minor op 131 stands apart from them all in its breadth and originality. In the 250th year since the master composer’s birth, we are excited to take on this towering work.

Fast-forward 150 years and French composer Henri Dutilleux looked to Beethoven for inspiration. In his career, Dutilleux wrote only one string quartet and he made it count. A shining example of 20th century quartet repertoire, Ainsi la Nuit is architectural, modern and completely original in its composition and will captivate through its evocative, poetic and sensuous qualities.

Note: This performance runs for 70 minutes with no interval