ASQ at UKARIA: Smetana Beethoven – Mt Barker

Friday 12 November 2021, 11am
UKARIA, Mt Barker
Peramangk Country

Approx 60 minutes, no interval

Adult $50
Concession $45
Student $25

Smetana’s ‘From my Life’ is a deeply personal work that depicts great joy, yearning, romance and regret. Composed in 1876, shortly after the composer lost his hearing, Smetana stated that his intention was to ‘paint a tone picture’ of his life. Employing the intimacy of the string quartet medium to express his most private feelings, Smetana reflected that the work is ‘purposely written for four instruments which, as in a small circle of friends, talk among themselves about what has oppressed me so significantly.’

Around 70 years earlier, Beethoven was commissioned by the Russian ambassador in Vienna, Count Razumovsky, to compose a trilogy of string quartets dedicated in the Count’s honour. Completed in close succession, the works were ahead of their time and explored the string quartet medium with an unprecedented scale of intensity and breadth of form. The final work of the trilogy ends with a furious four-part fugue; one of the most exhilarating finales he ever wrote and a fitting conclusion to the Australian String Quartet’s morning concert series at UKARIA for 2021.

Bedřich Smetana (1824 – 1884)
String Quartet No. 1 in E minor ‘From My Life’

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
String Quartet No. 9 in C, Op. 59 No. 3

Note: Complimentary Devonshire tea will be served prior to the performance from 10.00am.