ASQ with the Sydney Symphony

Presented by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Sydney Opera House Concert Hall
Gadigal Country

Thu 6—Sat 8 June 2024



To book this concert over the phone call the Sydney Symphony Orchestra on 02 8215 4600

All tickets are sold through the Sydney Symphony Orchestra and an $8.95 transaction fee may apply. Upon clicking ‘book now’ you will be redirected to the Sydney Symphony Orchestra’s booking page.

In a unique presentation, we join the Sydney Symphony to perform the mesmerising Absolute Jest by American composer John Adams, a work that takes small fragments of Beethoven’s music and develops them into something new, and newly inspiring.

Adams’ music is rhythmic, minimalist and utterly compelling. Focusing on small musical fragments that repeat and evolve, the work unfolds into a rich and deep experience. Brilliantly incorporating amplified string quartet and orchestra, the intimate interplay of the quartet unfurls into a vast soundworld of a symphony orchestra.

Ravel and Schoenberg were both genius orchestrators, utilising every tone of every instrument to realise their respective visions. Ravel’s tribute to French Baroque composer François Couperin takes a suite of courtly dances and transforms them into evocative, cinematic gems that are unmistakably Ravel’s own.

Schoenberg’s orchestration of Brahms’ First Piano Quartet is a gorgeous example of a huge contemporary imagination building on an historic work. Schoenberg’s ability to draw colour from an orchestra may, in this triumphant reimagining, even match that of Brahms himself.

Photo by Agatha Yim of Polyphonic Pictures


Le Tombeau de Couperin

Absolute Jest

Piano Quartet No.1 (orchestrated by Schoenberg)


All ASQ concerts will comply with venue COVID-19 safety protocols. The use of face masks is encouraged.