ASQ Mornings at UKARIA – Adelaide

event cancelled

Friday 23 July, 11am (includes Devonshire Tea)
UKARIA Cultural Centre, Peramangk Country

Single tickets
Adult $50
Concession $45
Student $25

Event cancelled: due to the SA lockdown in July 2021, this concert can no longer go ahead. Ticket buyers will be contacted.
Presented in association with UKARIA Cultural Centre

Bedřich Smetana (1824–1884)
String Quartet No. 1 in E minor From My Life

Robert Schumann (1810–1856)
String Quartet in A, Op. 41 No. 3

Throughout his life, Schumann penned only three string quartets, each composed quickly in 1842, his ‘year of chamber music’. The A major Op. 41 quartet – dedicated to his contemporary and friend Felix Mendelssohn – was written after an intense period studying the quartets of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven. Schumann’s reverence for their craft is echoed through his use of formal structure and rhythmic interplay, but the intensely pained beauty and tenderness of melody and harmony is utterly his own.

Please note there has been a change to the program. In place of Pavel Fisher’s String Quartet No. 3, this concert will now open with Smetana’s String Quartet No. 1 in E minor – From My Life. In this pioneering programmatic quartet, Smetana stated that his intention was to ‘paint a tone picture’ of his life. Composed in 1876, shortly after the composer lost his hearing completely, it depicts great joy, yearning, romance, and regret.