Filmed on Friday 29 January, 2021
Presented in association with UKARIA Cultural Centre

Haydn String Quartet in D minor op 9 no 4
Schubert String Quintet in C major D956

The genesis of the String Quartet inevitably leads to the works comprising Opus 9, composed in 1769. This serious D minor quartet is dramatic in key and nature, and also the first in the established four movement form, penned by Haydn. Perhaps inspired by writing for Prince Nikolaus’ beloved seven-stringed Baryton, and the early success he achieved with his foremost forays into the genre, this compelling and flamboyant quartet exemplifies Haydn’s title as “Father of the String Quartet”.

Schubert’s iconic string quintet in C (1828), composed at the end of his life, is a masterclass in small scale symphonic chamber music. Adding the richness of double celli allows for an array of epic string writing, coupled with deeply intimate chamber music finesse.

This concert marks the ASQ debut of cellist, Michael Dahlenburg and a most fitting celebration of friendship and the passing of the baton between Michael and Sharon.

Australian String Quartet
Dale Barltrop – Violin I
Francesca Hiew – Violin II
Stephen King – Viola
Michael Dahlenburg – Cello

Sharon Grigoryan – Guest Cello

Production Credits
Director of Photography – Maxx Corkindale
Sound Production – Jakub Gaudasinski
Editing – Samuel Jozeps & Stephen King