Australian String Quartet with David Griffiths – Melbourne

Friday 16 April, 7pm
Hanson Dyer Hall, Ian Potter Southbank Centre

Free event – registration required

Presented by the Faculty of Fine Arts and Music, Melbourne Conservatorium of Music

Joseph Haydn, Quartet in E flat maj Op 71 No 3
Johannes Brahms, Clarinet Quintet in B min Op. 115

The Australian String Quartet is thrilled to join with internationally renowned clarinettist David Griffiths to present a concert of scintillating chamber music, featuring masterworks by Haydn and Brahms.

Written in 1796, Joseph Haydn’s String Quartet op 71 no 3 is the final work in a set of three, known as the “Apponyi” Quartets, dedicated to Count Anton Georg Apponyi. Demonstrating music almost symphonic in its reach, this sublime work presents Haydn at the very height of his genius.

Johannes Brahms wrote his Clarinet Quintet op 115 in 1891, coming out of retirement to do so after experiencing the incredible sound quality and musicianship of german clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld. Written specifically for this musician, this work is arguably one of the greatest chamber works ever composed.

Don’t miss this opportunity to hear some of Australia’s finest chamber music performers in an unforgettable evening of music.

The Australian String Quartet performs this concert with guest violist Tahlia Petrosian